VETA provides and regulates vocational education and training with consciousness of and response to the demand of the labour market. The ultimate objective is to enhance employability of the vocational graduates; both wage employment and self-employment, and career progression as well.

The demand driven VET system calls for:

i. Close alignment to job demand;
ii. Flexibility in mode of delivery;
iii. Integration of business and entrepreneurial skills;
iv. Integration into the country’s social and economic policies and plans.

Levels of training mandate

VETA oversees training provision and awards of the National Vocational Awards (NVA), i.e. the 1st three levels of TVET Qualifications Framework:

i. Level I: Basic level, performing routine tasks
ii. Level II: Intermediate level performing routine tasks but with added responsibilities;
iii. Level III: Advanced level. Non routine tasks

Occupational sectors

Currently, training programmes covers 12 occupational sectors, namely:
I. Mechanical
II. Electrical
III. Civil and Building Engineering
IV. Automotive
V. Commercial Services and Business Support
VI. Clothing and Textile
VII. Transport
VIII. Extractive industry
IX. Printing
X. Cosmetology
XI. Agriculture and Food Processing
XII. Hospitality, Tourism and Travel Agency

Modes of Training Delivery

Institutional based training

Institutional based training is provided through long and short courses. The long and short courses are offered through the currently 29 VETA owned centres and almost 900 centres owned by the private sector entities, other government agencies, faith-based organizations and civil society organizations.

Home Remedies For Wrinkles